Skip to main content
Jailed For Being Poor: How the Money Bail System Criminalizes Poverty
On any given night, more than 450,000 people in the United States who have not been convicted of any crime are locked up in jail simply because they don't have enough money to pay bail. Universalism means no one is disposable and interdependence means that none of us are truly free as long as people are in jail. Join us on Tuesday, May 29th, 7:30pm EST/ 6:30pm CST/ 5:30pm MDT/ 4:30pm PST for a webinar to get ready for our General Assembly #EndMoneyBail Public Witness led by Black Lives of Unitarian Universalism. Join UUs from around the country to learn about the cash bail system and the growing movement to end money bond and pre-trial detention. We’ll hear from people who have been impacted by these injustices as well as volunteers and staff at several community bond funds. Whether you have been part of Mama’s Day Bail Out work in the past or are brand new, you will leave with ideas of how you and your congregation can contribute to local and national bond funds and support the fight to #EndMoneyBail.

May 29, 2018 6:30 PM in Central Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Love Resists!.